Watch Live: Senate Impeachment Trial

Latter-day Saint church announces plans to build 8 new temples, including two in Utah

FILE: The LDS Church's Salt Lake City Temple.

SALT LAKE CITY — The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has announced eight new temples, including one in Taylorsville and one in Orem.

In the Saturday evening women’s session of the 189th Semiannual General Conference, President Russell M. Nelson announced that the church plans to build temples in Orem and Taylorsville, Utah; Bentonville, Arkansas; McAllen, Texas; Freetown, Sierra Leone; Port Moresby, Papa New Guinea; Bacolod, Philippines and Cobán, Guatemala.

Details on when construction would begin or where local sites would be located were not immediately available.

In a Facebook post, the City of Orem stated that they were unaware of plans to build a new temple in the city.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.