Utah newborn safe haven law offers free, anonymous help to parents, infants

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SALT LAKE CITY – Thanks to a law that went into effect in 2001, help is available for all newborns and mothers with Utah’s Newborn Safe Haven.

The state-wide law allows birth parents to anonymously give up custody of their newborn child without facing any legal consequences.

You can leave your baby, up to 3 days old, with an employee on duty at any hospital emergency room, open 24 hours 7 days a week, in Utah.

The Utah Newborn Safe Haven has a toll-free hotline (1-866-458-0058) available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Find out more about Utah’s Safe Haven Law here

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.